The Museum’s collections, which are part of the permanent exhibition, are not large. Only about 800 artefacts. This raises important questions about how to collect minority heritage, and why. In the Museum’s handling collection, objects are arranged by how they were acquired, whether from the Jewish community or from others. This way of presenting the collections puts the spotlight on minority relations with the majority.
The pulpit is one of the few things left from the time when the building was a synagogue. It dates from the first half of the nineteenth century. After a long and fascinating journey, it is now back in its original place. When the Jewish congregation moved out in the 1870s, the pulpit was sold as part of the building to the couple, who relocated it to the Seaman´s Mission they founded. When that building was converted into a police station in the late nineteenth century, the Berg-Sandells contacted the founder of Nordiska museet, Artur Hazelius, about their ‘beautiful pulpit’, and in 1890 he acquired it for his new museum.
Now that the original murals have been uncovered, we can see the close similarities between the pulpit’s splendid ornamental pillars and the small roses on the synagogue’s ceiling.